Guidelines Man

December 20, 2022

What do the principles say about taking free aid while you run over your individual ball?

Getty Photographs

The Guidelines of Golf are difficult! Fortunately, we’ve acquired the guru. Our Guidelines Man is aware of the e-book entrance to again. Received a query? He’s acquired all of the solutions.

In a stroke-play occasion, driving by the tough searching for my ball, I accidently drove over my ball, embedding it. Do I get a free drop, or not? What if I hadn’t been the driving force — would which have modified issues? —John Trebble, Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

Accident forgiveness isn’t only a promoting level for automobile insurance coverage firms — the Guidelines of Golf have a spot for it, too.

Underneath Rule 9.4b, if this occurred when you had been expressly within the technique of searching for your ball, you aren’t penalized one stroke; in case you had been merely oblivious, you’re. (When you weren’t the driving force, you’re within the clear, as is the driving force, assuming no malfeasant intent.)

Both method, per Rule 14.second, you get to take your ball out of the altered lie and change the ball within the nearest lie most much like the unique inside one club-length of the unique spot, no nearer the opening and in the identical space of the course.

Subsequent time, please contemplate parking within the fairway and searching for the ball within the tough on foot.  

Guidelines Man: What do you do when your ball lands on a golf cart that drives away?

Guidelines Man

For extra golf cart-related steerage from our guru, learn on …

Lovely sunny day, match play. I drive up subsequent to my ball within the fairway, and the shadow from my cart is over my ball. My opponent tells me I would like to maneuver my cart, that the shadow over the ball was enhancing my lie. Is he joking? He’s not. I transfer my cart and play on. Is he proper — or loopy? —Daniel Kramer, Scottsdale, Ariz.

So, your opponent threw shade at you, eh?

Let’s put it this fashion, Daniel: He’s half-right, a minimum of within the guidelines sense. “Shading” the ball isn’t enhancing the lie, which pertains to Rule 8.1.

However a participant can’t intentionally place an object for the aim of blocking daylight; doing so breaches Rule 10.2b(5) [see interpretation 10.2b(5)1] and garners the overall penalty of two strokes in stroke play and lack of gap in match play. When you didn’t intentionally put the cart there for that function, there’s no breach underneath this rule.

Sooner or later, although, discover a parking spot farther away out of your ball — a bit of extra train by no means damage anybody.

Need assistance unriddling the greens at your own home course? Decide up a customized Inexperienced E book from 8AM Golf affiliate Golf Logix.

Received a query concerning the Guidelines? Ask the Guidelines Man! Ship your queries, confusions and feedback to ru[email protected]. We promise he gained’t throw the e-book at you.

Source link