Guidelines Man

November 15, 2022

What do the principles say about holding the flagstick whereas placing?

Getty Photos

The Guidelines of Golf are tough! Fortunately, we’ve obtained the guru. Our Guidelines Man is aware of the ebook entrance to again. Acquired a query? He’s obtained all of the solutions.

A participant’s ball is laying a foot from the opening. He thinks the flagstick is a bit off-center, so he decides to heart it, and, whereas nonetheless holding it in a single hand, he sinks the putt utilizing his different hand. Studying Rule 13.2a and b and the interpretations, I can’t perceive if this motion is allowed. Perhaps you’ll be able to assist. —Marius Bugge, Norway

Rule 13.2a permits a participant to have the flagstick centered within the gap.

Interpretation 13.2b(1)/2 permits a participant to carry the flagstick in a single hand whereas making a stroke with the opposite. But it surely additionally states that the participant should not intentionally let the ball in movement hit the flagstick.

So, this participant wanted to let go of the flagstick earlier than sinking the putt. He will get the overall penalty of two strokes in stroke play or lack of gap in match play; the stroke doesn’t rely and he must play the stroke once more with out holding onto the flagstick — or pulling it from the opening earlier than the ball strikes it.

A variety of angst over a one-footer, no?

For extra flagstick-related steerage from our guru, learn on …

Guidelines Man: Are you able to lean a membership in opposition to the flagstick whereas placing?

Guidelines Man

Whereas getting ready for a protracted putt, you ask for the flag to be tended — nevertheless it gained’t pull out of the cup because the ball approaches the opening! Within the first state of affairs, your ball strikes the pin and goes in; within the second, it hits the pin and stays out. Given that you simply wished the pin out and the new-for-2019 Guidelines, are there penalties or replayed strokes concerned in both case, or is it simply “play it because it lies”? —Bob Gowers, by way of electronic mail

The dreaded caught stick! Like 1-irons and plus-fours, you simply don’t see individuals tending the flag anymore, since there isn’t a longer a penalty for a ball performed from the inexperienced hitting the pin.

Anachronistic although the scenario could also be, underneath Rule 13.2b the ball-pin collision is taken into account unintended in each cases with no penalty, and also you, certainly, play the ball because it lies.

Need assistance unriddling the greens at your own home course? Choose up a customized Inexperienced E-book from 8 AM Golf affiliate Golf Logix.

Acquired a query in regards to the Guidelines? Ask the Guidelines Man! Ship your queries, confusions and feedback to [email protected] We promise he gained’t throw the ebook at you.

Source link